We’re delighted to be a part of the National Yes Registry launch. Jason Baird and his team have done an amazing job (re) connecting the Yes groups and beginning to chart a way forward. There’s a bigger and more difficult political challenge ahead, but this organisational effort is a crucial part of the rebuilding. Here’s the film with the declaration of support below.

Declaration of Support

Following our first National Yes Registry conference of grass-root, pro-independence autonomous groups held in Largs on the 5th of December 2015, we the undersigned groups declare our intention to collectively provide the grass-root authority and vanguard leadership necessary to instigate the creation of an open, non-party political, mutually supportive campaigning network around which all willing pro-independence grass-root organisations can coalesce to democratically maximise our social leverage for change and thereby systematically advance the cause for Scottish Independence.
This has been decided.

We intend to deliver on this decision through the creation of a collectively owned and run National Yes Registry ‘Forum mechanism’, as outlined in the NYR film and further developed through feedback gained during the ‘face to face tour of the groups’, undertaken in the five weeks prior to conference. This ‘Forum mechanism’ will continuously adapt and develop to practically address the social and campaigning needs of all the participating groups, as they grow over time.

We, the autonomous groups, fully understand that the ‘Forum mechanism’ which we are sanctioning the creation of, is only a tool. We are creating it in order to help anchor and actively develop, once again, the inspirational campaigning culture of pro-active self-help and powerful social networking that made the Scottish grass-root independence movement a joy to belong to and such a formidable non-party political force to be reckoned with.

It is this, our culture of mutual support, which will ensure the success of our proposed ‘forum mechanism’: A tool of the groups with which to build an effective grass-root social, cultural and campaigning network, nationwide. This is key to understanding the importance of our timetable to ‘launch’ and the ‘stages of group readiness’ which we the undersigned groups commit to delivering upon internally, in preparation to the ‘forum mechanisms’ launch nationally.

We, the undersigned, collectively urge all other likeminded groups and individuals with a belief in the need for a powerful non-party political grass-root voice in the campaigning direction and timing of Scotland’s next strides toward full Independence, to join us in creating this collectively owned, self-organised re-formation and continuation of Yes’s urgent grass-root driven demand for a return to full Scottish Independence.

End of declaration.


Yes Annandale annandale@nationalyesregistry.scot
Aye2Aye Hub, Fort William aye2aye@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Clydesdale clydesdale@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Dunfermline & West Fife dunfermlinew-fife@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes East Kilbride eastkilbride@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Edinburgh North & Leith edinburghnorth-leith@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Edinburgh West edinburghwest@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Forres Area forresarea@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes2Inverness inverness@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Jedburgh jedburgh@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Kelty kelty@nationalyesregistry.scot
Lochaber Women for Indy lochaberwfi@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Marchmont & Morningside marchmont-morningside@nationalyesregistry.scot
Common Weal Moray cwmoray@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes North East Fife nefife@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Orkney orkney@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Edinburgh Pentlands pentlands@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Rutherglen rutherglen@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Alliance Skye skye@nationalyesregistry.scot
Yes Troon troon@nationalyesregistry.scot