Scottish Alternative Music Awards Shortlist Announced

The Scottish Alternative Music Awards (SAMA) is an annual celebration of the best in new Scottish music, spotlighting some of Scotland’s most exciting newcomers, phenomenal bands and talented artists. Marking the 11th anniversary of the awards, this year’s live ceremony will take place online at 6.30pm on Wednesday 18 November via a new partnership with leading live streaming platform Twitch.

Suzanne Miller, manager of Help Musicians Scotland, said: “Help Musicians Scotland is so pleased to be supporting the Best Hip Hop Award at the Scottish Alternative Music Awards in this extraordinary year. We know how uniquely difficult 2020 has been for musicians; with so many still unable to perform it has been, and continues to be, both emotionally and financially challenging. That’s why this year’s SAMAs are perhaps more important than ever before, offering us all a moment to reflect on the incredible power of music, in all its various genres, that has kept us going and lifted our spirits exactly when we’ve needed it. Congratulations to all of the brilliant musicians nominated this year.”

The ceremony will include live performances from Glasgow, goth-glam quintet Walt Disco, who are known for their excellently eccentric style and 80s new wave sound, and Edinburgh DJ, rapper, producer and 2019 SAMA nominee Nova, whose debut solo album Re-Up has just won the 2020 Scottish Album of the Year Award. The event will be hosted by radio presenter and DJ Jim Gellatly and spoken word artist and theatre-maker, Leyla Jospehine.

Tickets for the virtual ceremony are available here via Eventbrite and include an option to donate to leading music charity Help Musicians Scotland, with funds to be invested back into supporting Scottish musicians.

A three day public vote will open on Monday 9 November on the SAMA website, with the winners announced live on Twitch on 18 November.

The 2020 SAMA nominations are :

Best Acoustic (sponsored by BTO BeCreative)

Bobby Kakouris

Fair Mothers

Jenny Sturgeon

Man of the Minch

Best Electronic (sponsored by citizenM hotels)

Lady Neptune

Pleasure Pool


Tommy Perman

Best Hip Hop (sponsored by Musicians Union)


India Ros3


Louis Seivwright

Best Live Act (sponsored by Musicians Union)

Callum Easter

Free Love

Kapil Seshasayee

Still House Plants

Best Metal (sponsored by Hard Rock Cafe Glasgow)

Bleed From Within

King Witch



Best Newcomer (sponsored by The Academy of Music & Sound) 

Nathan Somevi




Best Rock/Alternative (sponsored by Rock Rose Gin)

Dead Pony



Pleasure Heads

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published.

Help keep our journalism independent

We don’t take any advertising, we don’t hide behind a pay wall and we don’t keep harassing you for crowd-funding. We’re entirely dependent on our readers to support us.

Subscribe to regular bella in your inbox

Don’t miss a single article. Enter your email address on our subscribe page by clicking the button below. It is completely free and you can easily unsubscribe at any time.