Bella, the Album

cover2vWhen we trailed this idea a few days ago a prominent No campaigner scoffed back at us on twitter sneering: “What kind of a blog produces an album?!” with incredulous disdain.

I’m thinking it would make great badge, so thanks for that.

Today we’re launching a brand new project, an album of glorious sounds and songs – a wonderful mash-up of old and new, traditional and contemporary, melancholy and jubilant. It will get you dancing, greeting, and cheering all on the one album.

From the grace of Emily Smith through to frenzy of Shooglenifty, from the Fife vowels of Craig and Charlie to the rich lyrical beauty of our gaelic tradition it’s all here. Putting the hip in our hop we have Stanley Odd, with Loki in full swing and J Duncan Beats join the mix with a re-take of Letter from America. Also features the wonderful: Caman, Mary Ann Kennedy, Scott MacMillan, Colin Grant and Arthur Cormack, Ewan McLennan, Kathleen MacInnes, Tommy Orr, Capercaillie, J Duncan Beats, Ashim, Eilidh Cormack, Calum Barker, Brian McAlpine and Jonny Hardie, Allan Macdonald, Jackie McGuckian, Matt Seattle, and the legendary Dick Gaughan.

Big big thanks to all the artists and to everyone who has worked hard for nothing to put it all together over the last few weeks, particularly Kevin Brown who has done an immense job.

Proceeds go towards supporting Bella.

It’s only a tenner. Buy it HERE.


Comments (0)

Join the Discussion

Your email address will not be published.

  1. rachel says:

    Is it only download or are there hard copies available to buy?

    1. bellacaledonia says:

      Just as a download right now, gies a break : )

      1. Brassneck says:

        Telt ya Bas lol

  2. Reblogged this on Posters of Hope over Fear and commented:
    Just finished work on the tickets and postcards for the upcoming ‘Songs For Scotland’ event at Òran Mór next month… shaping up to be an incredible evening of celebration. Support the cause by buying the album!

    The great melody of life indeed, the perfect soundtrack of our times.

  3. David Justice says:

    Just paid for download on paypal how do I get the the purchase code ?

    1. bellacaledonia says:

      It will be emailed out to you in 5 minutes

      1. David Justice says:

        Thanks very much, a great set of tracks just downloaded.

  4. Optimistic Till I Die says:

    Just paid through Paypal for the Download but I cannot find any download instructions anywhere. Has so much attention been paid to the album you forgot to include the download info.? If not, maybe I’m just dozy. Where/when can I find the instructions?

    1. Same prob for me too 😉

    2. bellacaledonia says:

      H – thanks. No you’re not being dozy. The code will be sent out to you just now.

      1. brianmchugheng says:

        I paid for my gig ticket and download some time ago… I believe the gig tickets are getting sent out very shortly. Are people getting the Album download code now?

        1. bellacaledonia says:

          Yes it will be sent out to you.

  5. derickcosh says:

    Great album in it’s own right. The plus point is if you buy then u are also contributing to a great cause.

  6. more problems with download, or my understanding of it: does the code come via a separate email? if so, it hasn’t . . .

    1. bellacaledonia says:

      There’s no problem with the download, you just get the code sent separately

  7. More problems with download: does the download code come in a separate email? if so, it hasn’t. if not, where do I find it? I got a receipt for credit card payment.

Help keep our journalism independent

We don’t take any advertising, we don’t hide behind a pay wall and we don’t keep harassing you for crowd-funding. We’re entirely dependent on our readers to support us.

Subscribe to regular bella in your inbox

Don’t miss a single article. Enter your email address on our subscribe page by clicking the button below. It is completely free and you can easily unsubscribe at any time.